CITY OF ALEXANDRIA'S BOARDS, COMMITTEES & COMMISSIONS

<u>AIRPORT COMMISSION</u>: The Airport Commission oversees the operations and management of the Alexandria Airport. The City has a contracted Airport Manager with City staff support coming from the Public Works Coordinator. Member term is 3 years.

ALEXANDRIA AREA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION: The mission of the Alexandria Area Economic Development Commission is to drive the economic wealth and stability of our communities. A number of individuals, business & community leaders with diverse backgrounds have served on the AAEDC Board. The AAEDC works to maintain a balance of industry representatives on its Board of Directors. Backgrounds include financial, manufacturing, education, retail, service, non-profit and government. Since the AAEDC's focus is on manufacturing and industrial development, multiple representatives from the sector are appropriate for the board. Member term is 3 years.

<u>ALEXANDRIA LAKES AREA SANITARY DISTRICT (ALASD)</u>: ALASD is a regional sanitary sewer district established in 1971. In addition to the City of Alexandria, the townships of Alexandria, Carlos, Hudson, LaGrand, Ida and Lake Mary are members of the district. The board is assigned by law the responsibility of carrying on a continuous long range program of planning with respect thereto and given the authority to take over, acquire, construct, better, administer, operate and maintain any and all interceptors and treatment works needed for the collection, treatment and disposal of sewage in the district, as well as local sanitary sewer facilities over which the board assumes operation and maintenance responsibility at the request of any local government unit. The City of Alexandria appoints three members to the 11-person ALASD Board of Directors. Member term is 3 years.

BOARD OF PUBLIC UTILITIES (ALEXANDRIA LIGHT AND POWER): Alexandria Light and Power is governed by a five member utility board known as the Board of Public Works. The Alexandria Board of Public Works establishes rates for consumers and is the policy making entity that regulates the operations of Alexandria Light and Power. Member term is 3 years.

<u>CABLE TV COMMISSION</u>: The Cable TV Commission consists of five members and a representative of School District 206. The duties of the Cable TV Commission include monitoring the performance of the cable television franchisee, guaranteeing access to public channels, and keeping abreast of developments in the cable communications industry, among other tasks. Member term is 2 years.

<u>CULTURAL INCLUSIVENESS COMMITTEE</u>: The Cultural Inclusiveness Committee consists of five to seven members appointed by the City Council. The duties of the Cultural Inclusiveness Committee is to serve as an advisory body to the City Council in matters intended to develop and implement inclusive policies, programs and practices to foster a community which is welcoming, vibrant and inclusive of diversity. It shall also advise the City Council on services and programs that may be of special concern to the City's growing and diverse populations within the City. Member term is 2 years.

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT BOARD: The Economic Development Board must have one member from each of the City's five wards. The duties of the Economic Development Board shall be to review all tax increment financing, tax abatement, Job Opportunity Building Zones (JOBZ), and industrial development bond (IDB) applications to determine its legality and conformity to the City's policy statement, conduct hearings to solicit public comment, make recommendations to the City Council on projects, and advise the City Council of economic development matters. Member term is length of office held.

HOME RULE CHARTER COMMISSION: The Home Rule Charter Commission consists of seven members. The duties of the Home Rule Charter Commission include meeting a minimum of once a year to review the Home Rule Charter and/or propose amendments to the City Charter. Member term is 4 years.

HOUSING AND REDEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY: The mission of the Alexandria HRA is to, "Promote and provide affordable housing solutions and community development programs through public and private partnerships". Commissioners exercise fiduciary responsibility for the agency and help HRA staff determine what programs to administer within the HRA's area of operation. Individuals interested in serving as a commissioner would most likely have an interest in workforce housing, subsidized housing, local government, real estate, finance and/or community development programs targeted to improve the overall housing stock for the city of Alexandria. Member term is 5 years.

JOINT AIRPORT ZONING BOARD: The Joint Airport Zoning Board shall have the power to adopt, administer, and enforce airport zoning regulations applicable to the airport hazard area. The Joint Airport Zoning Board shall have all powers and duties for airport zoning set forth in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 360 as now established or hereafter amended. Member term is 2 years.

PARK BOARD: The Park Board's duties shall consist of advising the City Council on matters pertaining to the City Parks. Member term is 3 years.

PLANNING COMMISSION: The Planning Commission shall serve as an advisory body to the Council in matters of directing the future physical development of the City. The Planning Commission shall, upon request of the Council, make studies, investigations and recommendations to the Council regarding matters affecting zoning, platting and public improvements. The Planning Commission shall adopt a plan and map for future development and land use. Member term is 3 years.

POLICE CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION: The commission shall have absolute control and supervision over the employment, promotion, discharge, and suspension of all officers and employees of the police department of such city and these powers shall extend to and include all members of the police department. Member term is 3 years.

RUNESTONE COMMUNITY CENTER COMMISSION: The Commission shall cause the facilities to be maintained in good repair and working condition and shall cause them to be continually operated in an efficient manner at reasonable cost from time to time and from time to time shall cause to be made all needed repairs, renewals and replacements. The Commission shall regulate and control the activities and uses of the Commission's facilities for all purposes. Member term is 3years.

STORMWATER MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE: The Storm Water Utility Committee shall serve as an advisory body to the City Council in matters relating to the Storm Water Utility Program and the surface water management program including, but not limited to storm sewers, surface drainage, wetlands, on-site drainage, lake water control and quality, related capital improvements and various financing or funding options. It shall advise the City Council on services, programs and improvements related to the City's storm and surface water management program. Member term is 2years.

Applications are available at City Hall, 704 Broadway, Alexandria, or by email addressed to <u>ariedel@alexandriamn.city</u> Or on-line at <u>www.alexandriamn.city</u>. (Click on the Boards and Commission link at the top of the page). Applications should be returned to Amy Riedel, Administrative Assistant, City of Alexandria, 704 Broadway, Alexandria, MN 56308. For more information, please call Amy Riedel at 320-759-3622.