The City Council is an elected body that has administrative and legislative authority over City business. The City is divided into five wards with one Council Member per ward.  Presently there are two wards with two precincts which gives the City a total of seven voting precincts within the City limits.

The Alexandria City Council is comprised of elected officials consisting of a Mayor and five City Council Members, all of whom are elected at-large. The Mayor serves a four year term and Council Members serve four year terms which are staggered every two years.  City elections are held on even-numbered years.

The Mayor presides at City Council meetings and does not vote unless it is to break a tie.  City Council Meetings are held the 2nd and 4th Monday of each month beginning at 7:00 pm.  Meetings are held in the Alexandria City Council Chambers located at 704 Broadway- Alexandria, MN 56308.

Feel free to contact City Hall for more information at 320-763-6678.

The Alexandria City Council meetings are now available for viewing at


City Council Members

Bill Franzen
Council Member - Ward I
Roger Thalman
Council Member - Ward II
Scott Allen
Council Member - Ward III
Nicole Mace
Council Member - Ward IV
Andrew Wiener
Council Member - Ward V

Dept Contact Info

Phone: 320-763-6678
704 Broadway, Alexandria, MN 56308

Additional Information

Upcoming Events

City Council Meeting

Park Board Meeting

RCC Commission Meeting

Recent News